Wine to Make Glad

I have made cheese. I have brined olives. I have baked bread. For a true first century experience, I have to make wine. To begin, I have to admit that I have made wine on three different occasions. Each batch makes approximately six gallons, or around thirty bottles. My first two efforts produced a mediocre Shiraz. I chose shiraz because it was one of the grapes that was used to make wine in the Holy Land back at the time of Christ. For my third recipe, I used Italian Amarone juice. It resulted in a real decent wine, not quite on par with the Amarones from Northern Italy that cost around $60 a bottle, but still quite drinkable.

Six gallons of Malbec

This time I am making wine with a friend, Kenny Rogers. We are making a malbec. Our initial tests and tastings show that it should be a nice hearty red wine with an alcoholic level close to 14%. The experience is not quite like that of the fist century. Wagonloads of grapes were taken from the vineyards to a winepress – literally a hollowed rock. Family members would stomp the grapes (remember I love Lucy) until all the skins were broken. The yeast producing the fermentation was naturally present on the outside of the grape skins. Within three days, the grape juice was already fermenting and had a alcohol content of 3-4%. After fermentation, the wine was stored in amphorae, ceramic heartshaped containers with handles that held around six gallons. The tops were sealed with wood stoppers and pitch, to keep the wine from being exposed to air and spoiling. We used juice concentrate and prepackaged wine yeast.

Cheers!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Wine to Make Glad”

  1. Bob Pohly Says:

    I know that you have been super busy with Christmas and with the move. I would encourage you to keep the blog current. Just like an exercise program, the longer you are away, the harder it is to get going again. Keep up the good work.

  2. hiit Says:

    Do you have a Facebook fan page for your site?
    Ron

    • dougneel Says:

      I plan to put together a facebook page later this summer to talk about the book and a first century diet. Thanks for your interest.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

